Our Steering Committee

The Nyingarn Steering Committee will help to steer the project through from implementation to project platform delivery and handover to Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS). The work of the committee will focus on but is not limited to implementing ethical and culturally appropriate processes around manuscript access.

Collectively, our Steering Committee’s role is to:
– Direct project outcomes
– Establish and drive manuscript access protocols
– Oversee and engage in ethical research activities in accordance with the University of Melbourne Human Ethics, Protocols for using First Nations Cultural & Intellectual Property in the Arts and NHMRC’s Ethical conduct in research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and communities: Guidelines for researchers and stakeholders
– Provide direction to the project team
– Monitor timelines and quality of the project as it develops team
– Identify early Indigenous language manuscripts for ingestion into Nyingarn
– Identify potential project risks and develop strategies to navigate them
– Support community networks and collaboration
– Support the project and act as an advocate for its outcomes
Membership includes:
– Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander leaders in language revitalisation and/or research

Meet our Committee Members
Callum Clayton-Dixon
Dr Vicki Couzens
Dr Sandra Delaney
Jodie Dowd
Baressa Frazer
Charmaine Green
Lauren Booker
Brendan Kennedy
Theresa Sainty
Kaitlyn Lodewikus
Nathan Sentance